Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details

Every year, Maryland State Police hosts the Polar Bear Plunge. It is a fund raiser for the Maryland Special Olympics. The fund raising paraticipants raise funds with the promise that at the end of January they will take a dip into the Chesapeake Bay. Yes, they go swimming outside, for a quick second, in the dead of winter. This year the temperature on the ground was a warm 30*, the water temperature was 35*. It was a quick trip in and out of the water. The sand sculpture shows a few sponsors. Very Detailed. The group shot… Well somewhere in that crowd are my kids, can you find them? They are there, just one of the many details that made this event a success. Just a little side note, this year the Plunge raised over 2.3 million dollars! Side note number two… My kids love doing this for the kids who have special needs. They are much more brave than I am. I do not plunge, I donate, take pictures and buy stuff in support! Cold is not my favorite thing!

IMG_0493IMG_0475

About 4rozebds

I am a stay at home mom who very recently received her first non point and shoot camera. I am the least creative person I know and am looking for inspiration to bring out any that may be buried deep within me.
This entry was posted in Photo. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details

  1. adinparadise says:

    Great entry for the challenge, and well done to all those hardy people. 🙂

  2. sued51 says:

    In Boston we have the “L Street Brownies”…it definitely takes a certain combination of courage and craziness. I like that these people are doing it for charity…

  3. Am I “blind” or silly? I can not find the “follow” button on your site. Please enlighten me. Thanks, Carina

  4. 4rozebds says:

    You are not blind or silly. It seems to be missing. That is the strangest thing ever! I’ll have to work on finding it. I’ll let you know when I do. Weird.

Leave a Reply

