Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

I did not grow up in a house that spent a whole lot of time worrying about spiritual issues. When I was young, my parents dropped my sisters and me off at church, we sat with my grandmother, then when church was over we would meet my parents at my grandparents house for Sunday dinner. The church we attended wasn’t all that big into kids. They put hangman worksheets and connect the dots in the bulletin in order for the children to be quiet during the service. ( totally contradictory to Scripture by the way ) When I was old enough to make my own decisions about going or not going to church, I chose to not go. Morality was a case by case decision. Needless to say, I made some poor choices. At 19 I ended up pregnant, and single. I kept my baby, best decision I ever made.  I honestly believe that God allowed that pregnancy to make me grow up in a hurry and change the way I was living. I met my husband who was a strong Christian man, he introduced me to the Christ I grew up not knowing. I came to a saving knowledge of Him and the gratitude I feel to God for laying out a plan, to allow me to spend eternity in Heaven with Him is beyond words. Words can not express how thankful I am to Christ who died for my sins, long before I was even born. He was tortured, despised and rejected for something I was going to do. He did it willingly. For that I a forever thankful. In a nut shell I am thankful for the verses found in the Bible that clearly explain the plan of salvation. John 3:16, Ehpesians 2:8-9, John 14:6 just to name a few.

About 4rozebds

I am a stay at home mom who very recently received her first non point and shoot camera. I am the least creative person I know and am looking for inspiration to bring out any that may be buried deep within me.
This entry was posted in Photo. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

  1. Interesting story! I’m happy you have made your circumstances blessings. Good for you! It’s great to know the Lord, too. Take care.

  2. Angeline M says:

    Amazing how God laid out a plan for you to finally meet him 🙂

  3. Sometimes we have to hurdle first many stumbling blocks before we find our anchor 😉 Happy for you.

    By the way, thanks for hitting the Like button on my latest post. I truly appreciate it.

  4. SimplySage says:

    Simply beautiful. I am thankful for Him, too.

  5. brettfish says:

    love it. wot an incredible story and always exciting to see how God is able to grow His kingdom despite His church at those times when His church gets it horribly wrong… fortunately there are also so many people like your husband who fully get what church is meant to be about and who are living kingdom things which make it an exciting prospect and thing to completely want to be a part of when we get closer to figuring out who Jesus was and what it really means to be a follower of Him.

    great idea!

  6. 4rozebds says:

    Oh, Thank you for stopping by! Have a great weekend!

  7. plaridel says:

    it was a wonderful story. I’m glad it worked for you.

  8. eof737 says:

    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪May your week ahead be filled with thankful moments! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Elizabeth 🙂

  9. Amen, this is something to be extremely thankful for.

Leave a Reply

