Weekly Photo Challenge: Best Friend

I participate in 2 weekly photo challenges. A few weeks ago, the other challenge was friendship. I posted a picture of me with my 3 best friends. I surely couldn’t re-post that same picture now could I? Nope. This is my other best friend. She has been around since I was the ripe old age of 5. I had my tonsils taken out shortly after I got her, and the doctors allowed her to be on the operating room table with me. When I woke up, she was the first friendly face I saw. When being a teenager was just too much for me to deal with, she was the one who listened to me cry myself to sleep. When I had my first baby, my dad snuck into my house, grabbed her up and brought her to me while I was still in the hospital. She has been loved so much that she has needed 3 re-coverings. I do believe this will be the last, as she now sits on a small rocking chair that was made for my grandmother by her father. She no longer goes with me to the doctor, or grocery store – I relish doing those things on my own. For anyone out there that is too young to know, this is a picture of Mrs. Beasley from the 1970’s show Family Affair starring Sebastian Cabot and Brian Keith. It was my favorite show back then. I know, Im dating myself.Ā 

About 4rozebds

I am a stay at home mom who very recently received her first non point and shoot camera. I am the least creative person I know and am looking for inspiration to bring out any that may be buried deep within me.
This entry was posted in Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Best Friend

  1. Mrs. Beasley! I will join you in dating ourselves: one of my favorite toys around that time was my Family Affair Colorforms, lol šŸ˜€ I really wish I would have saved some of those things…

  2. eof737 says:

    Great looking doll. I’m not familiar with it, but can tell it was a treasured toy for some šŸ™‚

  3. I loved Mrs. Beasley!!!

  4. Sunshine says:

    this is a lovely story full of good memories and a cool looking doll as well…she looks very happy and peaceful…thanks for sharing šŸ™‚

    • 4rozebds says:

      Thank you so much. What you can’t see is that I loved her so much when I was little that I cut her hair and chewed her finger nails just like I did my own. I wanted her to be exactly as I was. How goofy was I?

      ________________________________

  5. What a sweet story! I have had my stuffed animal 25+ years now and I actually offered it to my daughter in a useless attempt to get her to sleep in her own bed. Thankfully, she didn’t want Mr. T. šŸ™‚

  6. sutira says:

    Awwwww. What a sweet story. Same thing with my husband and his Cabbage Patch Kids doll that he has been hugging each night for the past 25 years!

  7. ayoliag says:

    Ha ha Mine was Sandy .. real rag doll but i loved her dearly … now stuffed in a corner somewhere ….I know ….. after all we’ve been through huh!

Leave a Reply

